Dyson disqualified for touching line of putt
In the second round Friday, he marked his ball just beyond the cup on No. 8. As he marked it, Dyson made a quick move to tamp down a spot on the green directly in his line. That violates Rule 16-1a.
The infraction was pointed out to European Tour rules officials, who spoke to Dyson. Because he did not add the two-shot penalty, he was disqualified for signing an incorrect scorecard.
The disqualification was a big blow to the Englishman. He was No. 66 on the money list. Only the top 60 are eligible for the final event in Dubai.
Copyright 2013 by The Associated Press
This story is from ESPN.com's automated news wire. Wire index