Penny Chenery among 12 new members elected to Racing HOF

Updated: May 23, 2018, 6:12 PM ET
Associated Press

SARATOGA SPRINGS, N.Y. -- Cornelius Vanderbilt Whitney and Penny Chenery are among 12 members elected to the National Museum of Racing and Hall of Fame.

Also selected Wednesday by the Hall of Fame's Pillars of the Turf Committee were: Elias J. "Lucky" Baldwin, August Belmont I, Cot Campbell, John W. Galbreath, Arthur B. Hancock, Sr., Hal Price Headley, John Morrissey, Dr. Charles H. Strub, William Collins Whitney, and Harry Payne Whitney.

They join the previously announced selections of thoroughbreds Heavenly Prize and Preakness, and trainer William Lakeland in the class of 2018.

The Hall of Fame induction ceremony is Aug. 3 at the Fasig-Tipton sales pavilion in Saratoga Springs.

Copyright 2018 by The Associated Press

This story is from's automated news wire. Wire index


Use a Facebook account to add a comment, subject to Facebook's Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your Facebook name, photo & other personal information you make public on Facebook will appear with your comment, and may be used on ESPN's media platforms. Learn more.