Mavs coach Carlisle fined for officiating comments
DALLAS -- Mavericks coach Rick Carlisle was fined $25,000 by the NBA on Saturday for criticizing the officiating after Dallas' loss to Golden State.
With the Mavs trailing 98-97 on Thursday, Brandan Wright had the ball knocked away while going up for a shot, and no foul was called. The Warriors went on to win 100-97 at home.
Carlisle was particularly frustrated because the NBA had acknowledged the referees made a mistake in the final seconds of a loss at Portland two days earlier. O.J. Mayo was called for a charge with 1.5 seconds left in a tie game, and the league conceded the next day it should have been a blocking foul, which would have given the Mavericks two free throws to try to take the lead. Instead, LaMarcus Aldridge hit a buzzer-beater to win it.
"The game came down to the call that wasn't made. Brandan Wright got hit on the arm," Carlisle said Thursday. "And it's obvious. And it's two (games) in a row. ... And I'm very concerned about what's happening at the end of games with the officials. I can only be honest."
On Saturday, Carlisle sent a text message to reporters saying he spoke to the league office and agreed with the fine. He said the comments were "not appropriate."
Copyright 2013 by The Associated Press
This story is from ESPN.com's automated news wire. Wire index