Winston among 5 finalists for Walter Camp award

Updated: December 4, 2013, 6:37 PM ET
Associated Press

NEW HAVEN, Conn. -- Florida State's Jameis Winston, Alabama's AJ McCarron and Texas A&M's Johnny Manziel are among the five finalists for the Walter Camp player of the year award.

Northern Illinois quarterback Jordan Lynch and Boston College running back Andre Williams are the other finalists for the award presented by the Walter Camp Football Foundation.

Winston is the leading contender for the Heisman Trophy, but he has also been accused of a sexual assault and been under investigation by law enforcement in Florida. Prosecutors announced Wednesday that a decision on whether to charge Winston in the case will be announced Thursday.

Notre Dame linebacker Manti Te'o won the Walter Camp player of the year award last year.

Copyright 2013 by The Associated Press

This story is from's automated news wire. Wire index


Use a Facebook account to add a comment, subject to Facebook's Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your Facebook name, photo & other personal information you make public on Facebook will appear with your comment, and may be used on ESPN's media platforms. Learn more.