Jags release Hunter, Maddox in final roster cuts

Updated: September 2, 2006, 10:31 PM ET
Associated Press

JACKSONVILLE, Fla. -- The Jacksonville Jaguars released 21 players Saturday, including offensive tackle Wayne Hunter and defensive tackle Anthony Maddox.

Other veterans released: guard Derrick Fletcher, receiver Randy Hymes, cornerback David Richardson, center Brett Romberg and tight end Todd Yoder.

The Jags also waived 14 first-year players: running back Rich Alexis, defensive lineman Walter Curry, defensive end Jim Davis, long-snapper Andrew Economos, tight end Greg Estandia, safety Jamaal Fudge, cornerback Trestin George, offensive tackle Ryan Gibbons, linebacker Brian Iwuh, cornerback Edorian McCullough, receiver Charles Sharon, guard Shannon Snell, receiver Fred Stamps and defensive end James Wyche.

The team also placed guard Dan Connolly on injured reserve. Connolly broke his finger during training camp.

The team will sign eight players to the practice squad Sunday, and most of them are likely to be rookies who were waived.

Three undrafted rookies made the 53-man roster. Left tackle Richard Collier, defensive tackle Tony McDaniel and running back Montell Owens made the team, giving coach Jack Del Rio a fourth consecutive season with at least one undrafted rookie on the roster.

Hunter, claimed off waivers from Seattle in May, was beaten out by Collier, 6-foot-7, 358-pound lineman who was working in the produce department after high school before getting back into football.

Maddox, a fourth-round draft pick in 2004, played in five games last season and had four tackles.

Copyright 2006 by The Associated Press

This story is from ESPN.com's automated news wire. Wire index