Owens, Ware, Witten make All-Pro

Updated: January 9, 2008, 4:36 PM ET
Associated Press

IRVING, Texas -- Jason Witten's record-setting season earned him more than a trip to Hawaii. On Wednesday, the Dallas Cowboys tight end was picked as the best tight end in the entire NFL this season, landing on the All-Pro team for the first time.

DeMarcus Ware made it, too, giving him an interesting distinction: First Cowboys linebacker to make All-Pro since Chuck Howley all the way back in 1970.

Then there's Terrell Owens, who made it for the first time with Dallas, but the fifth time in his career.

With three players on the leaguewide all-star team, the Cowboys have their most honorees since also having three in 1997.

"Any time you can be the best in the entire league, that's always a special moment," said Witten, who set club records for catches (96) and yards (1,145) by a tight end and tied an NFL tight-end record with 15 catches in one game. "There's a lot of great tight ends out there, so to be on the top of that list is nice."

The Ware-Howley connection has another twist. They are the only linebackers in Cowboys history ever to make All-Pro.

Howley made it from 1966-70. Considering Ware is only in his third year -- and just his third year playing linebacker, having always been a defensive end -- he could have a long run ahead of him, too. His 14 sacks were tied for third in the NFL and were tops among linebackers.

"Seeing how over the years I've gotten better and better coverage-wise and stopping the run and rushing the passer, now I feel like I'm a well-rounded linebacker," Ware said. "Now I'm getting put in the realm with those other guys that have been here seven, eight years and have been great players. So you really see how your hard work pays off."

Owens also made All-Pro in 2000, '01 and '02 with San Francisco, and 2004 with Philadelphia. He's the first Cowboys receiver to be selected since Michael Irvin in 1991. Drew Pearson and Bob Hayes are the only others to make it.

The last Cowboys tight end picked was Jay Novacek in 1992. Before that, the only Dallas tight end chosen was Frank Clarke in 1964.

"To be the best in the league regardless, not just the NFC, that's special," Witten said.

Ware led all outside linebackers with 39 of the 50 votes.

Witten received 33, easily beating out Gonzalez's eight.

Owens received 32 -- well behind the unanimous total for Randy Moss, but well ahead of the 11 for the top runner-up, Indianapolis' Reggie Wayne.

Other Cowboys receiving votes:

-- Flozell Adams was the first runner-up at offensive tackle.

-- Leonard Davis was the second runner-up at offensive guard, likewise for center Andre Gurode.

-- Cornerback Terence Newman and safety Ken Hamlin each received a single vote.

Four of the Cowboys' record-setting 12 Pro Bowlers didn't get any votes: quarterback Tony Romo, safety Roy Williams, running back Marion Barber and kicker Nick Folk.

Copyright 2008 by The Associated Press

This story is from ESPN.com's automated news wire. Wire index