New ways to break a tie for marathon bonuses

Updated: December 9, 2008, 6:18 PM ET
Associated Press

BOSTON -- The World Marathon Majors, a points race that awards $1 million in prize money to the world's top man and woman at the 26.2-mile distance, has adopted a system of tiebreakers in case two runners finish the two-year cycle all even.

Starting with the 2010 prize, the runner with the best head-to-head record in qualifying races during the period would be crowned the winner. If it's still a tie, the athlete who achieved his or her points in the fewest races would win, with subsequent tiebreakers being: the person who won the most qualifying races, the one with the fastest average time in scoring races, and a vote of the race directors.

The directors of races in Berlin, Boston, Chicago, London and New York could also declare joint winners.

Irina Mikitenko of Germany won the $500,000 women's bonus this year after a vote by World Marathon Majors race directors to break the tie between her and Ethiopia's Gete Wami. Kenya's Martin Lel won the men's title.

Copyright 2008 by The Associated Press

This story is from's automated news wire. Wire index