Monday, January 24
Dan Patrick named Sportscaster of Year
 January 24, 2000

ESPN's Dan Patrick has been voted National Sportscaster of the Year by the National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association (NSSA). With this award, Patrick joins ESPN's Chris Berman, a five-time winner, as the only two cable commentators ever to win the votes of their peers as the best sportscaster in the nation. He will receive the award at NSSA's 41st annual awards program May 1 in Salisbury, N.C.

Widely recognized for his poignant interviews and dry wit, Patrick is a SportsCenter anchor and host of the Dan Patrick Radio Show weekdays from 1-4 p.m. ET on ESPN Radio. He also reports major events such as the Super Bowl and the NBA Finals.

"I am truly honored considering the great sportscasters who were nominated this year and who've won this award before me," said Patrick, who won a studio host Sports Emmy in 1998 and the CableACE Award in 1997 for his work on SportsCenter. "For a guy who makes a living talking, I'm speechless."

Patrick's best moments in 1999 came as the host of ESPN's critically acclaimed SportsCentury, a 30-minute, weekly series which profiled the 50 greatest North American athletes of the 20th century. His exceptional interview skills are evident in SportsCenter's Sunday Conversation and in ESPN The Magazine's "Outtakes" page, where he has brought out the best in many of sports key personalities including Michael Jordan, Mark McGwire and Barry Sanders.

ESPN's Simpson for NSSA Hall of Fame
In addition, Jim Simpson, one of the first sports commentators to join ESPN Sept. 14, 1979, will be inducted into the NSSA Hall of Fame. He came to ESPN after 15 years at NBC Sports, a move that brought instant credibility to the fledgling cable network.

At ESPN, Simpson covered college football, basketball and baseball; tennis, including Davis Cup; USFL; boxing; horse racing; golf; and occasionally appeared on SportsCenter.

Simpson's illustrious career in television sports spanned more than 50 years and took him to 49 U.S. states and 22 countries. In 1998, he received the highest honor in the sportscasting industry, the Lifetime Achievement Award at the annual Sports Emmy Awards