First shining moment

Max Faulkner/Getty Images

The 2014 NCAA men's basketball championship game is expected to draw 80,000 fans to AT&T Stadium in Arlington, Texas.

On this day in 1939, Oregon beat Ohio State 46-33 in the first championship game of the NCAA tournament. The inaugural tournament featured eight teams in a single-elimination format. Despite playing on the losing team, Buckeyes senior Jimmy Hull was named the Most Outstanding Player for his 58 points combined over Ohio State's three-game run to the final, which was played in front of 5,500 fans in Evanston, Ill. Launched one year after the inaugural National Invitational Tournament (NIT), the NCAA tournament was considered by many to be a less prestigious event for its first several years of existence. Eventually, as the NCAA tournament's field grew and participation rules changed, the NCAA tournament became the premier postseason event. The NCAA women's basketball tournament began in 1982 with a 32-team field. Louisiana Tech beat Cheyney 76-62 to claim the first title. Today, the men's tournament has expanded to 68 teams and the women's tournament to 64 teams.