Minnesota hoping for rare repeat

Hannah Foslien/Getty Images

Minnesota will be going for its fourth national championship in program history.

The NCAA has awarded 12 national championship trophies in women’s hockey, and three teams (Minnesota, Wisconsin and Minnesota-Duluth) have claimed them all. By comparison, women’s basketball has had 14 different NCAA national champions, volleyball and softball have had 11, and soccer has had eight. Each of those sports has had three different champs the past three years. Minnesota is looking to put an end to that streak when it goes for a repeat at this weekend’s Frozen Four.

Read more WFYIs.