New Orleans is first to third for Final Fours

AP Photo/Mark Humphrey

Diana Taurasi led UConn to the title over Tennessee the last time the Final Four was in New Orleans.

In the 32 years of the women’s NCAA tournament, New Orleans becomes the first city to host the Final Four three times. Connecticut has been there all three times, winning the title in 2004 and falling in the semifinals in 1991, when Tennessee won the championship. A total of 22 cities across the country have hosted the Final Four. Next year, Nashville will host the semifinals and final for the first time.

Read more WFYIs.