Been there, done that

Robert Laberge/Getty Images

Petra Kvitova, seeded eighth at Wimbledon, was also the eighth seed in 2011 when she won her lone Grand Slam title by beating Maria Sharapova in the final.

There are three former champions looking to get their hands on the Venus Rosewater Dish again as Wimbledon begins today. Top-seeded Serena Williams leads the way with five titles (2002, 2003, 2009, 2010, 2012) and a 24-1 record on the Wimbledon grass since 2009. Her lone loss was to Marion Bartoli, who is seeded 15th this year, in the fourth round in 2011. Third-seeded Maria Sharapova claimed the trophy in 2004 but has reached the final only once, in 2011, since. Petra Kvitova, the 2011 champion, is seeded eighth this year. She lost to Serena Williams in the quarterfinals during her title defense in 2012.