One-hit wonders at Open

Cynthia Lum/Getty Images

Svetlana Kuznetsova, the 2004 US Open champion who is seeded 27th this year, plays American Mallory Burdette in the first round.

It’s Day 1 at the U.S. Open in Flushing Meadows, N.Y., and we’re saluting the tournament’s one-hit wonders – the nine women who have won the Open singles title a single time in the Open era. Sam Stosur (2011) and Svetlana Kuznetsova (2004) are the lone women looking to get off that list in 2013 by grabbing a second trophy. Kuznetsova made it back to the final in 2007 before falling to Justine Henin. The other one-hit wonders at the Open are Maria Sharapova (2006), Lindsay Davenport (1998), Martina Hingis (1997), Arantxa Sanchez Vicario (1994), Gabriela Sabatini (1990), Hana Mandlikova (1985) and Virginia Wade (1968).