First of many for Comets

AP Photo/David J. Phillip

The Comets, who had a league-best 18-10 record in the inaugural 1997 WNBA season, won the league's first title by beating the New York Liberty.

On this day in 1997, the Houston Comets became the first WNBA champions when they beat the New York Liberty 65-51 in front of a sellout crowd of 16,285 at the Summit. Cynthia Cooper, who had 25 points, four rebounds, three steals and four assists in the game, was named MVP. The Comets would go on to win the league’s first four titles before the Los Angeles Sparks started a two-year run in 2001. The team folded after the 2008 season.