Eastern time in WNBA?

Ron Hoskins/NBAE/Getty Images

The Indiana Fever celebrated the franchise's first championship a year ago after taking out the defending champion Minnesota Lynx.

The 17th postseason in WNBA history opens tonight, and the four teams from the East – the Chicago Sky, the Indiana Fever, the Washington Mystics and the Atlanta Dream -- are looking to spread the wealth. Of the 16 previous champions, only two teams representing the Eastern Conference, the Detroit Shock and the defending champion Indiana Fever, have claimed the crown. All four Western Conference teams in this year’s postseason – the Los Angeles Sparks (2001-02), the Seattle Storm (2004, ’10), the Minnesota Lynx (2011) and the Phoenix Mercury (2007, ’09) already have championship trophies in their cases.