Magnificent Seven and More

AP Photo/Garry Jones

Texas looks to join Penn State, Southern Cal, Stanford, UCLA, Pacific and Hawaii on the list of back-to-back national champions.

The first serves in the 2013 NCAA women's volleyball tournament will be struck today, and the 64-team field features plenty of aces as well as a few floaters. In the 32-year history of the tournament, 10 different champions have been crowned. Seven are in the 2013 field, including reigning champion and top-seeded Texas, which also claimed the crown in 1988. The other former champions are Stanford (six titles), Penn State (five), Hawaii (three), Nebraska (three), Southern California (three) and Washington (one). Only two teams -- Penn State and Stanford -- have earned bids to all 32 tournaments. Aside from the seasoned programs, there are four teams making their tournament debuts in 2013: Alabama State, Duquesne, Hampton and IUPUI. The semifinals and championship will be held in Seattle Dec. 19 and Dec. 21 and aired on ESPN2.