The Curse of Brisbane?

Chris Hyde/Getty Images

Did Serena Williams' win at Brisbane a year ago set the tone for her impressive 2013 season?

The 2014 tennis season is officially underway as the Brisbane International opened yesterday in Australia. The hard-court tournament is used by many of the WTA and ATP’s top players as a warm-up for January’s Australian Open. Serena Williams and Andy Murray won the 2013 Brisbane singles titles. Although they both had successful seasons, neither went on to win the year’s first Grand Slam event in Melbourne. In fact, no woman or man has ever won the Brisbane Open and the Australian Open in the same year. Perhaps two-time defending Australian Open champ Victoria Azarenka should keep that in mind as she takes the court in Brisbane. Three-time defending men’s champ Novak Djokovic is interestingly not playing in Brisbane.