A'ja Wilson one of 28 called to U18 trials

Courtesy USA Basketball

A'ja Wilson is one of three players heading to U18 trials who has already won a gold medal with USA Basketball. Brianna Turner and Recee' Caldwell are the others.

A'ja Wilson will get a chance to make an early first impression on Dawn Staley.

Wilson, the No. 1 prospect in the espnW HoopGurlz Top 100 who signed with Staley's South Carolina Gamecocks last month, was one of 28 players invited on Wednesday to USA Basketball's U18 national team trials.

The trials will be held May 24-26 in Colorado Springs. Twelve players will be selected to compete in the 2014 FIBA Americas U18 Championship Aug. 6-10 in Colorado Springs.

Wilson was one of 13 players from the 2014 class invited to the trials. Also accepting invitations were Lynee' Belton (Duke), Monique Billings (UCLA), Recee' Caldwell (UCLA), Sierra Calhoun (Duke), Mikayla Cowling (Cal), LaJahna Drummer (UCLA), Kortney Dunbar (Tennessee), Katelynn Flaherty (Michigan), Paris Kea (Vanderbilt), Mariya Moore (Louisville), Azura Stevens (Duke), Brianna Turner (Notre Dame).

Meme Jackson, a star from Blackman (Murfreesboro, Tenn.), which finished the season No. 1 in the espnW 25 Power Rankings, headlines the representatives from 2015. Joining Jackson are recent Connecticut commit Napheesa Collier, recent Notre Dame commit Marina Mabrey, Sophie Cunningham, Batouly Camara, Mone' Jones, Kyra Lambert, Teaira McCowan, Beatrice Mompremier, Ali Patberg, Cierra Porter, Jessica Shepard, Destinee Walker and Stephanie Watts.

Jazmine Jones, a 6-foot guard from Florida A&M High School, is the lone player from the 2016 class on the trials roster.

"Looking at the list of players who will be at the trials makes me so happy that I am not on the committee," Staley said. "To be able to get this group of talented players down to 12 and maybe three alternates is going to be a challenge in itself. I hope I can play a small role of putting all the players in a position to play their best basketball and to give the committee a hard challenge to get this group down to just 12.

Eight teams -- Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Chile, El Salvador, Mexico, Puerto Rico and the United States -- will compete at the 2014 FIBA Americas. The top four teams will qualify for the 2015 FIBA U19 World Championship for Women.

Related Content