Missy Franklin wins 200 freestyle

SANTA CLARA, Calif. -- Missy Franklin won the 200-meter freestyle and finished third in the 200 backstroke, and Michael Phelps was second in the 200 freestyle Saturday night in the Santa Clara Grand Prix.

Franklin took the 200 free in 1 minute, 56.96 seconds, faster than the Olympic star thought possible. Elizabeth Beisel won the 400 individual medley and the 200 back. Beisel finished in 2:09.11, and Franklin had a 2:09.86 after hitting her hand on the lane line.

Phelps, the 18-time Olympic champion racing in his third meet since coming out of retirement, finished behind North Baltimore teammate Yannick Agnel in the 200 free. Angel won in 1:46.99, and Phelps had a 1:48.20.

Also, Cheyenne Coffman won the women's 50 free, Bruno Fratus took the men's 50 free, Chase Kalisz won the men's 400 IM, and Arkady Vyatchanin took the 200 back.

Related Content