ACC sweeps No. 1 seeds in soccer

The four No. 1 seeds in the NCAA women's soccer tournament are all from the ACC.

ACC tournament champion Florida State was joined by Virginia, Virginia Tech and North Carolina when the 64-team bracket was revealed Monday.

Only the top 16 teams are seeded. The No. 2 seeds are Florida, Marquette, Nebraska and UCLA, while the No. 3 seeds are UCF, Michigan, Portland and South Carolina.

Denver, Penn State, Santa Clara and Texas A&M are the No. 4 seeds.

The ACC put eight teams in the tournament, more than any other conference. There are seven teams from the Big Ten and six from the Pac-12.

First-round play is set for Friday and Saturday. The College Cup semifinals are Dec. 6, with the final Dec. 8 in Cary, N.C.

Related Content