Basketball Hall of Fame: Meet the Class of 2017

Tracy McGrady tells Rachel Nichols what the top moments of his Hall-of-Fame career are.


The 11-member Class of 2017 -- including Tracy McGrady, Bill Self, Rebecca Lobo and Muffet McGraw -- will be inducted into the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame on Sept. 8 in Springfield, Massachusetts.



Tracy McGrady

  • Elected by North American Committee
  • Seven-time NBA All-Star (2001-07)
  • Two-time NBA scoring campion (2003, 2004)
  • Two-time All-NBA First team selection (2003, 2004)

Bill Self

  • Elected by North American Committee
  • NCAA champion coach (2008)
  • Two-time AP College Coach of the Year (2009, 2016)
  • Has led Kansas to 14 straight NCAA tournament appearances

Rebecca Lobo

  • Elected by Women's Committee
  • 1995 National Champion (Connecticut)
  • 1995 NCAA Final Four Most Outstanding Player, AP Female Athlete of the Year
  • 1996 Olympic gold medalist; six-year WNBA veteran

Muffet McGraw

  • Elected by Women's Committee
  • Only male or female three-time consensus National College Coach of the Year (2001, 2013, 2014)
  • 2001 National Champion coach (Notre Dame)
  • One of four coaches in NCAA Division I history with 800 wins, seven Final Fours and five NCAA title game apperances

Jerry Krause

  • Elected by Contributor Direct Election Committee
  • GM and Executive VP of the Chicago Bulls (1985-2003)
  • Six-time NBA champion executive (1991-93, 1996-98)
  • Two-time NBA Exectutive of the Year (1988, 1996)

Zack Clayton

  • Elected by Early African American Pioneers Committee
  • An all-time great player of Black Fives Era
  • Two-time World Champion of Professional Basketball (1939 New York Rens, 1943 Washington Bears)
  • Member of Philadelphia Basketball Hall of Fame

Tom Jernstedt

  • Elected by Contributor Direct Election Committee
  • Spent 38 consecutive years with the NCAA (1972-2010) 
  • Former president, vice president of USA Basketball
  • Inducted into the College Basketball Hall of Fame in 2010

Mannie Jackson

  • Elected by Contributor Direct Election Committee
  • Former star for Harlem Globetrotters (1960-66)
  • Owner, CEO of Globetrotters (1993-2007)
  • Chairman of the Board for the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame (2007-09)

Nikos Galis

  • Elected by International Committee
  • Considered the greatest basketball player in Greek history; voted country's best athlete in 1986 and 1987
  • 1987 European Championship gold medalist and MVP
  • Led Aris Thessaloniki to eight Greek League championships (1983, 1985-91)
  • Named one of FIBA's 50 Greatest Players in 1991; member of FIBA Hall of Fame 

George McGinnis

  • Elected by Veteran's Committee
  • Six-time All-Star between ABA and NBA
  • Two-time ABA champion with Indiana Pacers (1972, 1973) 
  • 1975 ABA co-MVP (Julius Erving)

Robert Hughes

  • Elected by North American Committee
  • All-time winningest high school basketball coach (1,333-247)
  • Led Texas teams to 35 district championships and five state championships during 47-year career
  • NHSCA National High School Coach of the Year (2003)
  • Texas Basketball Hall of Famer (1993); High School Basketball Hall of Famer (2003)

Related Content