CS:GO Pro League introduces Asia-Pacific division

The CS:GO Pro League is set for expansion following the announcement from ESL and WESA that the Asia-Pacific region -- including Southeast Asia, China and Australia/New Zealand -- will be included in Season 7 of the competition.

Southeast Asia, China, and Australia/New Zealand will host open qualifiers and season matches to determine the eight teams that will proceed to the APAC offline finals in Sydney, Australia.

The top two teams from the offline finals will secure their spots in the global CS:GO Pro League Finals in Dallas in May.

In addition to the expansion of new competition, ESL has committed to rolling out new infrastructure and other technical equipment that will allow Asia-Pacific players to compete in conditions similar to those elsewhere around the globe.

"This is an incredibly important step on our way to establish a truly global playing field for all professional Counter-Strike players in the world," Ulrich Schulze, Senior Vice President of Product at ESL, said in a statement.

"The APAC region has waited long enough for a proper inclusion in a global gaming circuit. We're excited to see how expanding Pro League to this region will further significantly strengthen and develop the professional scene."

The expansion into the Asia-Pacific region for Season 7 follows the announcement that three teams from the Australia/New Zealand region will qualify to compete at IEM Sydney in 2018.