Committee is newly found

Feb. 3, 1999

Top athletes and coaches from a variety of professional and collegiate sports are helping select the winners of the 1999 ESPY Awards, as part of the newly formed ESPY Finalist Committee. The panel, which will choose the winners in 19 sport-specific Performer of the Year categories and the nine "cross-cutter" categories emphasizing all sports, also includes 20 ESPN/ABC commentators and ESPN production personnel.

"We're thrilled to have some of the biggest names in sports help select what we believe is the biggest, most comprehensive award covering all of sports," said ESPN Senior Vice President and Executive Editor, John A. Walsh, who will join Jeff Ruhe as executive producers of the 1999 ESPY Awards. "Involving peers who are respected for their integrity as well as their athletic achievements will enhance the award."

The athletes and coaches on the ESPY Finalist Committee: David Cone, Cynthia Cooper, Jeff Gordon, Mia Hamm, Grant Hill, Mike Krzyewski, Michelle Kwan, Rebecca Lobo, Martina Navratilova, Joe Paterno, Tubby Smith, Pat Summit, Tiger Woods, Steve Young and Steve Yzerman.

The ESPN/ABC commentators: Chris Berman, Rich Eisen, Chris Fowler, Keith Jackson, Bob Ley, Kenny Mayne, Chris McKendry, Barry Melrose, Al Michaels, Joe Morgan, Brent Musburger, Dan Patrick, Karl Ravech, Robin Roberts, John Saunders, Stuart Scott, Charley Steiner, Joe Theismann, Mike Tirico and Dick Vitale.

The nominees, announced in December, were selected by the ESPY Select Nominating Committee, a panel of sports executives, journalists and retired athletes. Winners had previously been chosen by balloting within each sport (for Performer of the Year) and by a panel of ESPN personnel (for "cross-cutter" categories).

The seventh annual ESPY Awards will be aired live on ESPN Monday, Feb. 15 at 8 p.m. ET from New York's Radio City Music Hall. Actor Samuel L. Jackson will host.

Copyright 1995-98 ESPN/Starwave Partners d/b/a ESPN Internet Ventures. All rights reserved. Do not duplicate or redistribute in any Privacy Policy (Updated 01/08/98). Use of this site signifies your agreement to the Terms of Service (Updated 01/12/98).