Associate Sponsors

Cast your ESPY vote: Best Breakthrough  

En Español     

Danica Patrick, IRL
Credentials: Highest woman qualifier and finisher in Indianapolis 500 history (both fourth place). Was also the first woman ever to hold the lead at Indy, which she did for 19 laps.
Past ESPYs: None

Ben Roethlisberger, Pittsburgh Steelers
Credentials: Former Miami (Ohio) quarterback set an NFL rookie record with 13 wins.

Past ESPYs: None

Maria Sharapova, Tennis
Credentials: Won the 2004 Wimbledon championship, her first appearance in a Grand Slam final.

Past ESPYs: None

Dwyane Wade, Miami Heat winner
Credentials: After averaging 16.2 points as a rookie, Wade averaged 24.1 points, 6.8 assists and 5.2 rebounds during the 2004-05 season. He added 27.4 points, 6.6 assists and 5.7 rebounds during the playoffs.
Past ESPYs: None

past winners
Best Breakthrough Athlete '04 LeBron James, Cleveland Cavaliers

'03 Alfonso Soriano, New York Yankees

'02 Tom Brady, New England Patriots

'01 Daunte Culpepper, Minnesota Vikings

'00 Kurt Warner, St. Louis Rams

'99 Randy Moss, Minnesota Vikings

'98 Nomar Garciaparra, Boston Red Sox

'97 Tiger Woods, Golf

'96 Hideo Nomo, Los Angeles Dodgers

'95 Jeff Bagwell, Houston Astros

'94 Mike Piazza, Los Angeles Dodgers

'93 Gary Sheffield, San Diego Padres

The 2005 ESPY winners will be announced during the ESPY Awards in Los Angeles on July 13. The ESPYs will be televised on ESPN and ESPN Deportes on July 17 at 9 p.m. ET, preceded by the ESPY Red Carpet Special on ESPN2 at 8 p.m. ET.

presented by