Rush's Robinson named defensive player of the year

Chicago Rush DB Dennison Robinson was selected as the 2008 ADT Defensive Player of the Year as voted by AFL head coaches, fans, players and the Arena Football League Writers Association.

AFL Defensive Players of the Year

• 2008: Dennison Robinson, Chicago
• 2007: Greg White, Orlando
• 2006: Jerald Brown, Columbus
• 2005: Silas Demary, Los Angeles
• 2004: Kenny McEntyre, Orlando
• 2003: Clevan Thomas, San Jose
• 2002: Clevan Thomas, San Jose
• 2001: Kenny McEntyre, Orlando
• 2000: Kenny McEntyre, Orlando
• 1999: James Baron, Nashville

1998: Johnnie Harris, Tampa Bay
• 1997: Tracey Perkins, Tampa Bay
• 1996: David McLeod, Albany

Robinson, who earned All-Arena First Team honors, led the AFL in interceptions and became the fourth player in AFL history to record 13 in a single season. Robinson also tied for the team lead in tackles (92.5), forced fumbles (3) and ranked third in passes defensed (9) for the League's top-ranked scoring defense (47.8 ppg).

Dallas DL Colston Weatherington, Dallas DB Jermaine Jones, New York DL Henry Taylor, San Jose DB Marquis Floyd and Tampa Bay DL Tim McGill also received votes.