Arena Football League adding 4 teams

TULSA, Okla. -- The Arena Football League will add new teams in Philadelphia, Pittsburgh, San Jose and Kansas City and expand its schedule to 18 games next season.

Commissioner Jerry Kurz announced the changes Monday, raising the league's membership from 15 to 19 teams.

All four of the cities had AFL teams before the league folded following the 2008 season. The league was reconstructed earlier this year with teams from the original Arena Football League and arenafootball2.

The Spokane Shock beat the Tampa Bay Storm for the Arena Bowl title on Aug. 20.

The schedule expansion will mark the longest season ever in the arena league. Teams have played a 16-game schedule since 2003.