NEWPORT, Wales -- You've got to say it.
This is match play, and at the Ryder Cup, no less.
The putt was surely going to be conceded to halve the hole, so Harrington's partner Ross Fisher didn't need to pull his putter from his bag. But the three-time major winner never heard "It's good" from his American counterparts.
Johnson, walking toward the seventh tee, said he gave the Euros the putt. Mickelson thought so, too, and apologized to Harrington as they walked off the green together.
It was a simple miscommunication and fortunately didn't cause a rules question, as has happened so many times this year.
Hopefully, that will continue for the rest of the week here in the United Kingdom.
Kevin Maguire is the golf editor for ESPN.com. He can be reached at Kevin.Maguire@espn.com.