3M Championship

  • July 10 - 12, 2009
  • TPC of the Twin Cities
  • Par 72
    Yards 7,100
  • Purse $1,750,000
    2009 Champion Bernhard Langer


1-Bernhard LangerB. Langer-16-7F676865200$262,500.00-
2-Andy BeanA. Bean-15-5F656967201$154,000.00-
3-Scott HochS. Hoch-14-6F676966202$126,000.00-
4-Tom KiteT. Kite-13-5F696767203$105,000.00-
T5-Steve ThomasS. Thomas-12-5F736467204$77,000.00-
T5-Nick PriceN. Price-12-1F656871204$77,000.00-
T7-Mark O'MearaM. O'Meara-11-8F717064205$56,000.00-
T7-Dan ForsmanD. Forsman-11-5F677167205$56,000.00-
T7-Larry MizeL. Mize-11-5F716767205$56,000.00-
10-Gene JonesG. Jones-10EF666872206$45,500.00-
T11-Ronnie BlackR. Black-9-6F677466207$40,250.00-
T11-Mark McNultyM. McNulty-9-5F707067207$40,250.00-
T13-David EdwardsD. Edwards-8-5F707167208$33,250.00-
T13-Jay HaasJ. Haas-8-4F716968208$33,250.00-
T13-John CookJ. Cook-8-3F716869208$33,250.00-
T16-David EgerD. Eger-7-6F727166209$27,169.00-
T16-Bruce FleisherB. Fleisher-7-5F697367209$27,169.00-
T16-Jeff SlumanJ. Sluman-7-5F727067209$27,169.00-
T16-Dana QuigleyD. Quigley-7-3F716969209$27,169.00-
T20-Brad BryantB. Bryant-6-3F707169210$22,400.00-
T20-Chip BeckC. Beck-6-3F717069210$22,400.00-
T22-Morris HatalskyM. Hatalsky-5-7F717565211$16,839.00-
T22-John JacobsJ. Jacobs-5-5F707467211$16,839.00-
T22-Don PooleyD. Pooley-5-5F717367211$16,839.00-
T22-James MasonJ. Mason-5-4F746968211$16,839.00-
T22-Tom JenkinsT. Jenkins-5-3F736969211$16,839.00-
T22-R.W. EaksR.W. Eaks-5-2F707170211$16,839.00-
T22-Mark JamesM. James-5-1F716971211$16,839.00-
T22-Mike GoodesM. Goodes-5EF687172211$16,839.00-
T22-Fuzzy ZoellerF. Zoeller-5+1F706873211$16,839.00-
T31-Jerry PateJ. Pate-4-3F707369212$12,600.00-
T31-Keith FergusK. Fergus-4-2F707270212$12,600.00-
T31-John MorseJ. Morse-4-1F707171212$12,600.00-
T34-Mitch AdamsM. Adams-3-6F757266213$9,931.00-
T34-Robert ThompsonR. Thompson-3-5F697767213$9,931.00-
T34-Fred FunkF. Funk-3-4F707568213$9,931.00-
T34-Tim SimpsonT. Simpson-3-4F737268213$9,931.00-
T34-Gil MorganG. Morgan-3-4F717468213$9,931.00-
T34-Olin BrowneO. Browne-3-3F717369213$9,931.00-
T34-John HarrisJ. Harris-3-2F717270213$9,931.00-
T34-Bruce VaughanB. Vaughan-3+1F716973213$9,931.00-
T42-Bruce LietzkeB. Lietzke-2-4F737368214$7,700.00-
T42-Joey SindelarJ. Sindelar-2-3F697669214$7,700.00-
T42-Graham MarshG. Marsh-2-3F717469214$7,700.00-
T42-Gary HallbergG. Hallberg-2EF687472214$7,700.00-
T46-Tom McKnightT. McKnight-1-3F727469215$6,650.00-
T46-Bobby WadkinsB. Wadkins-1-2F737270215$6,650.00-
T48-Mike McCulloughM. McCulloughE-1F717471216$5,775.00-
T48-Ben CrenshawB. CrenshawE+2F687474216$5,775.00-
T48-Fulton AllemF. AllemE+3F687375216$5,775.00-
T51-Hal SuttonH. Sutton+1-2F727570217$4,725.00-
T51-Mike ReidM. Reid+1-1F737371217$4,725.00-
T51-Hale IrwinH. Irwin+1+2F727174217$4,725.00-
T54-Tom PurtzerT. Purtzer+2-2F757370218$3,938.00-
T54-Dave StocktonD. Stockton+2-1F757271218$3,938.00-
T54-Lanny WadkinsL. Wadkins+2EF717572218$3,938.00-
T54-Wayne LeviW. Levi+2+4F707276218$3,938.00-
T58-Jay SigelJ. Sigel+3-3F797169219$3,238.00-
T58-Jim ThorpeJ. Thorpe+3-2F787170219$3,238.00-
T58-Phil BlackmarP. Blackmar+3+1F727473219$3,238.00-
T58-Scott SimpsonS. Simpson+3+1F757173219$3,238.00-
T62-Larry NelsonL. Nelson+4-1F757471220$2,712.00-
T62-Mike HulbertM. Hulbert+4+3F707575220$2,712.00-
T64-Mark WiebeM. Wiebe+5+1F757373221$2,362.00-
T64-Lonnie NielsenL. Nielsen+5+3F717575221$2,362.00-
T66-Bruce SummerhaysB. Summerhays+6-3F777669222$1,855.00-
T66-Thomas HerzanT. Herzan+6+2F757374222$1,855.00-
T66-Blaine McCallisterB. McCallister+6+4F747276222$1,855.00-
T66-Gary McCordG. McCord+6+5F737277222$1,855.00-
70-Bob GilderB. Gilder+7+3F727675223$1,540.00-
T71-Ron StreckR. Streck+8+2F737774224$1,330.00-
T71-Leonard ThompsonL. Thompson+8+5F737477224$1,330.00-
T71-Allen DoyleA. Doyle+8+6F786878224$1,330.00-
T74-Dave EichelbergerD. Eichelberger+9+2F777474225$1,085.00-
T74-Denis WatsonD. Watson+9+5F717777225$1,085.00-
T74-Mark JohnsonM. Johnson+9+6F737478225$1,085.00-
77-Jim ColbertJ. Colbert+10+3F757675226$945.00-
T78-Jim DentJ. Dent+11+1F738173227$840.00-
T78-Peter JacobsenP. Jacobsen+11-1F758171227$840.00-


Steven Saunders ESPN UK 

Jon Rahm escaped a two-shot penalty after inadvertently moving his ball in the rough on the 17th because he "had acted in good faith". The R&A explained he had "moved a root believing it to be dead and therefore a loose impediment." It was still live, but after consultation with rules officials and playing partner Lee Westwood, the two strokes were reinstated post-round.

Bob Harig ESPN Senior Writer 

Phil Mickelson, who shot 17 under par at Royal Troon last year and still finished 3 strokes behind winner Henrik Stenson, failed to make a birdie during the first round at Royal Troon, shooting 73. It was the first time Mickelson did not make a birdie or eagle in any major championship round since the last day of the 2012 U.S. Open at the Olympic Club. The last time at the Open? The first round in 1999 at Carnoustie. Mickelson also failed to make a birdie earlier this year during the second round of the Dean & DeLuca Invitational and the third round of the Players Championship.

Jason Sobel @JasonSobelESPN

Opening-round 68 for Kent Bulle from Glasgow. A (sort-of) local boy? Uh, not exactly. That would be Glasgow, Kentucky.

Michael Collins ESPN Senior Writer 

Pick a name, any name... as long as it's inside the top ten there's a good chance you're picking the winner. The current streak is 14 straight from inside the top ten. The last time a major champion was outside the top ten after round 1? 2013 PGA Championship winner Jason Dufner. Outside the top 20? 2012 U.S. Open champ Webb Simpson.

Jason Sobel @JasonSobelESPN

Rory McIlroy credits his turnaround to a pep talk from caddie J.P. Fitzgerald. "Come on, you're Rory ------- McIlroy!" he told him.

Jason Sobel @JasonSobelESPN

Rory McIlroy opened with a front-nine 39. Finished with a back-nine 32. Hell of a comeback. He's back in the mix.

ESPN Stats and Information  

This would be the 3rd time at least 3 players are tied for the lead at 5-under or better after the 1st round of The Open - the other 2 instances were 1995 (Ben Crenshaw, John Daly, Mark McNulty and Tom Watson) - Daly went on to win and 1984 (Peter Jacobsen, Bill Longmuir and Greg Norman) - none of them would win - Seve Ballesteros won.

Bucci Mane @Buccigross

Rory McIlroy's 39 (+5) on his opening 9 holes is his worst score to par on the first 9 holes of a major in his career.