Tiger clinches eighth PGA Player of the Year award

NORTON, Mass. -- Along with his fifth straight victory,
Tiger Woods captured another prize at the Deutsche Bank
Championship. His seventh victory of the year was enough for him to
mathematically clinch PGA Player of the Year.

Woods now has won the PGA of America's award eight times in his
10 full years on the PGA Tour. The only two times he did not win
the points-based award was in 1998 when Mark O'Meara won two
majors, and in 2004 when Vijay Singh won nine times.

Players receive 30 points for winning a major, 20 points for The
Players Championship and 10 points for every other PGA Tour
victory, with a 50-point bonus for winning two majors. As many as
20 points are awarded on a sliding scale for the scoring average
and money list.

With only nine tournaments left in the season, no one can catch Woods. His next two PGA Tour events: the WGC-American Express Championship and the Tour Championship.

Woods also has a commanding lead in the race for the Vardon
Trophy for lowest scoring average at 68.30. Jim Furyk is second at

But whether he wins that award for the seventh time in his
career might depend on his schedule. Because he missed the cut at
the U.S. Open and withdrew after two rounds of the Nissan Open with
the flu, Woods has played only 51 rounds this year. Unless he plays
Disney, he would be four rounds short of the 60 minimum required to
win the Vardon Trophy.

The PGA Tour award for lowest scoring average -- the Byron Nelson
Trophy -- requires only 50 rounds.