Woods wins golf writers' award for eighth time

Tiger Woods, Lorena Ochoa and Jay Haas are the players of the year for their respective tours, as named by the Golf Writers Association of America.

Woods has won the PGA Tour award in eight of the last 10 years. He won nine times this year, including at the Target World Challenge last weekend. He won the British Open and PGA Championship, despite missing the cut at the U.S. Open, his first major championship after the death of his father, Earl, on May 3. He won $9.9 million in just 15 official tour starts.

Ochoa won six LPGA Tour events, led the tour in money ($2.592 million) and won the Vare Trophy for lowest scoring average. She snapped Annika Sorenstam's run of five straight player of the year honors.

Haas won four Champions Tour events, including the Senior PGA Champoinship. He led the Championships Tour in money earned ($2.4 million) and won the Charles Schwab Cup.

All three players will be honored at the GWAA's Annual Awards Dinner April 4, 2007 in Augusta, Ga.