Aussie trio qualify for 2014 Open

Australians John Senden, Rhein Gibson and Bryden Macpherson qualified for the 2014 Open Championship by virtue of their finishes Sunday in the Australian Open at Royal Sydney.

The Open has gone to a new qualifying system for 2014 called the Open Qualifying Series in which 14 events around the world will serve as qualifying possibilities for players not already exempt into the Open.

Senden, Gibson and Macpherson were the top three players in the top-10 at the Australian Open not already in the field for the Open Championship, to be be played July 17-20 at Royal Liverpool in England.

There will be other qualifying tournaments, including two in Asia and one in South Africa as well as three tournaments in Europe and three in the United States.

The AT&T National, the Greenbrier Classic and John Deere Classic will serve as PGA Tour events in which players can qualify.