AJGA names All-America team

Sarah Harris and Kimberly Santiago earned HP Scholastic Junior All-American honors for the second straight year, the American Junior Golf Association announced this week.

Harris, from Hermitage, Tenn., and Santiago, of Lynnwood, Wash., lead the 12 girls on the team. Teddy Corcoran of Rochester, N.Y., wrote the winning essay and heads the 12-member boys' team. All 24 golfers will be honored at the Rolex Junior All-America Awards Banquet on Nov. 20 at PGA National Resort & Spa in Palm Beach Gardens, Fla. The event is in conjunction with the Polo Golf Junior Classic, which runs Nov. 19-25.

In addition to Corcoran, the boys' team includes Taylor Billings (Kenner, La.), Charlie Cai (West Windsor, N.J.), Jacob Fair (Monett, Mo.), Colin Frizzell (Nacogdoches, Texas), Forrest Gamble (Birmingham, Ala.), Tyler Ostrom (Warsaw, Ind.), Patipan Pipatpinyopong (Loves Park, Ill.), Quinlan Prchal (Glenview, Ill.), Harrison Shih (Saddle River, N.J.), Bailey Truesdell (Grand Blanc, Mich.) and Joe Willis (Lake Forest, Ill.).

The girls' team includes Harris and Santiago, plus Mackenzie Boydston (Keller, Texas), Stephanie Carlozzi (Naples, Fla.), Shane Crutchfield (St. Petersburg, Fla.), Elizabeth Doty (Palos Verdes Estates, Calif.), Alexandra Hershberger (Basking Ridge, N.J.), Laura Kanouse (Boca Raton, Fla.), Lauren Kim (Los Altos, Calif.), Christine Lin (Austin, Texas), Deanna Song (Granger, Ind.) and Alexandra Wong (San Francisco).

To be eligible for the team, boys must have placed in the top 10 of an AJGA Open or Invitational, while girls needed a top-five finish. The selections were then based on grade point average, class rank, leadership skills, SAT/ACT/PLAN/PSAT scores, community service and writing ability. Candidates were required to submit an essay no longer than 500 words on an original topic relating to golf.