Mavericks top Lions for first championship

BALTIMORE, Md. -- Third time was the charm for Eastern Tech as the Mavericks defeated Queen Anne's 16-8 to win the Class 2A state championship at M&T Bank stadium in Baltimore.

Zach Burkhardt and Chuky Iweh both had touchdowns and the Mavericks defense held Lion's quarterback Tyler German to 26 total yards en route to the victory.

The win gives Eastern Tech's first-ever state championship.

The Mavericks have been knocking on the door the past two seasons, making the championship game, but falling to River Hill both times.

Eastern Tech got on the board first when Burkhardt scampered for an 86-yard touchdown run that put them up 7-0.

In the second quarter, a muffed snap by Queen Anne's that resulted in the punter throwing the ball out of the endzone for a safety and a 9-0 Maverick's lead was all Eastern Tech needed for the win.

Burkhardt rushed for 84 yards in the game and Iweh accounted for 67 yards and a touchdown in the second half to give the Mavericks the victory.

Eastern Tech and Queen Anne's traded touchdowns in the third quarter, but it was Queen Anne's defense that made the biggest impact.

Iweh had a nine-yard touchdown to put Eastern Tech up 16-0 with 6:19 left in the quarter.

Quinn Haley answered on the Lion's next possession with a 19-yard touchdown run. The 2-point conversion attempt was good on a pass to Jake Haley and cut the Mavericks lead to 16-8.

Emmanuel Gbor seemingly took back the momentum with an 84-yard kickoff return that set up Eastern Tech on the Lion's 8-yard line. But with Eastern Tech facing a third-and-goal from the 3-yard line the Mavericks were stopped on consecutive plays by Jake Haley and Matt Steffens to give the Lion's back the ball.

But in the end, the Lion's defense could not break through the Mavericks defense led by defensive ends Jake McNew and Emmanuel Gbor.

ESPNRise encourages comments from its users. Leave a comment below. Mike Loveday covers high school sports for ESPNRISE.com. Mike can be reached at Michael.Loveday@espn.com