A Timeline of the NFL in Los Angeles

Some highlights of the rich history of pro football in Los Angeles:

1945 <<<<<<

In the NFL Championship Game, the Cleveland Rams beat the Washington Redskins 15-14 at Cleveland Stadium. It was the last game the franchise played before moving to Los Angeles.

1950 <<<<<<

The Los Angeles Rams jump out to a 14-7 lead and are up 28-20 in the fourth quarter before losing the NFL Championship Game to the Cleveland Browns 30-28 in Cleveland.

1951 <<<<<<

The Los Angeles Rams, behind quarterbacks Bob Waterfield and Norm Van Brocklin, edge the Cleveland Browns 24-17 to win LA's first major professional sports title.

1960 <<<<<<

Chargers play their lone season in LA.

1963 <<<<<<

Rosey Grier was acquired from the New York Giants in 1963 to join Lamar Lundy, Merlin Olsen and Deacon Jones as the Rams' starting defensive line. They became known as the Fearsome Foursome, a line that Dick Butkus called "the most dominant line in football history." They gained fame as the Rams went from a perennial under-.500 team to an NFL powerhouse under coach George Allen.

1967 <<<<<<

Coach George Allen's never-say-die Rams block a fourth-quarter punt by Donny Anderson to overcome NFL champion Green Bay 27-24, and then stomp Baltimore 34-10 to win the Coastal Division title with an 11-1-2 record.

1979 <<<<<<

Los Angeles Rams win the NFC Championship Game, beating the Tampa Bay Buccaneers 9-0 in Tampa Bay.

1979 <<<<<<

The lightly considered LA Rams, in their first-ever Super Bowl, led the Pittsburgh Steelers 19-17 after three quarters but succumbed to Terry Bradshaw & Co. 31-19 in Super Bowl XIV at the Rose Bowl.

1982 <<<<<<

Rookie RB Marcus Allen leads the LA Raiders to a 23-17 win over the defending Super Bowl champion 49ers at San Francisco -- in the franchise's first game as the LA Raiders.

1983 <<<<<<

RB Marcus Allen gains 191 yards and scores twice to lead the LA Raiders to a 38-9 rout of the Washington Redskins in Super Bowl XVIII at Tampa. Allen was named Super Bowl MVP.

1984 <<<<<<

Rams RB Eric Dickerson breaks O.J. Simpson's single-season NFL rushing record with 2,105 yards.

1984 <<<<<<

The LA Express of the USFL defeat the defending champion Michigan Panthers 27-21 in three OTs, the longest professional football game in history.

1989 <<<<<<

Willie "Flipper" Anderson hauls in an NFL record 336 receiving yards in a single game against the Saints. The Rams won the game 20-17 in overtime.

1984 <<<<<<

The Los Angeles Express sign Steve Young to what was then reported to be the largest professional sports contract ever signed up until that point--a multiyear deal worth over $40 million. The payments were actually to be in the form of an annuity set up to pay him about $1,000,000 annually for the next 43 years, so the value of the contract was considerably less than stated.

1987 <<<<<<

Bo Jackson of the Raiders turned in a career-high 221-yard rushing performance on "Monday Night Football" against the Seattle Seahawks. During this game, he ran over Seahawks linebacker Brian Bosworth, who had insulted Jackson and promised in a media event before the game to contain Jackson. He also made a 91-yard run to the outside, untouched down the sideline. He continued sprinting until finally slowing down as he passed through the entrance to the field tunnel to the dressing rooms with teammates soon following. Jackson scored two rushing touchdowns and one receiving touchdown in the game.

1993 <<<<<<

The Rams' Jerome Bettis is named AP Offensive Rookie of the Year after rushing for 1,429 yards and 7 TDs and earning his first Pro Bowl nod.

1995 <<<<<<

The LA Raiders and LA Rams become the Oakland Raiders and St. Louis Rams.

2001 <<<<<<

The Los Angeles Xtreme defeat the Chicago Enforcers in the playoffs and the San Francisco Demons in the Million Dollar Game with a score of 38-6 to win the league's sole championship. Former UCLA quarterback Tommy Maddox also won the XFL's Most Valuable Player award and is currently the only player to win both an XFL Championship and a Super Bowl (Super Bowl XL). The LA Xtreme were the only champions of the XFL because NBC dropped the XFL concept after the first season due to dismal ratings. Shortly after this, Vince McMahon announced that the league would be dissolved in 2001.