Durant honored with prestigious Rupp Trophy

LEXINGTON, Ky. -- Texas freshman Kevin Durant has been named the winner of the 2007 Adolph F. Rupp Trophy.

Durant is the first freshman to boast the Rupp Trophy in the award's 35-year history.

"It wasn't even close this year," said Commonwealth Athletic Club of Kentucky spokesman Gerry Calvert. "Durant won it going away. Considering the list of former winners, it's remarkable that he won it as a freshman."

Durant, averaging 25.8 points and 11.1 rebounds, led the Longhorns to a 25-10 record and the second round of the NCAA Tournament.

Former winners of the prestigious Rupp Award, named after the legendary Kentucky coach, include: Bill Walton, Larry Bird, Ralph Sampson, Michael Jordan, Patrick Ewing, David Robinson, Shaquille O'Neal, Tim Duncan, and most recently, J.J. Redick.