Villanova's Jalen Brunson wins John R. Wooden Award as player of the year

Brunson wins Wooden award (2:06)

Villanova junior Jalen Brunson adds to his hardware collection as he wins the 2018 John R. Wooden Men's Player of the Year award. (2:06)

Jalen Brunson of national champion Villanova was named the winner Friday night of the John R. Wooden Award as college basketball's player of the year.

Brunson also claimed the Bob Cousy point guard of the year award, having averaged over 18 points while helping Villanova win its second national title in three years.

The junior previously claimed a slew of honors, including The Associated Press men's player of the year. He helped the Wildcats spend a nation's-best eight weeks at No. 1 in the AP Top 25 this season.

Brunson is the second player to win the national title and Wooden Award in the same year, and the first Wildcats player to earn the Wooden honor.

"It really truly does mean a lot," he said. "There's been so many great players that have come through Villanova. Being the first one is something I take great pride in."

Brunson edged Devonte Graham of Kansas, Deandre Ayton of Arizona, Marvin Bagley III of Duke and Trae Young of Oklahoma.

The five were invited to Los Angeles for the 42nd annual presentation of the award on Friday night during the fourth annual College Basketball Awards.

In addition to those five, Keita Bates-Diop of Ohio State, Trevon Bluiett of Xavier, Mikal Bridges of Villanova, Miles Bridges of Michigan State and Jevon Carter of West Virginia were named to the Wooden Award All-American team announced Wednesday.

Villanova's Jay Wright received the John R. Wooden Legends of Coaching honor.

Voting took place March 12-19 during the opening rounds of the NCAA tournament.

Other winners Friday evening were Purdue's Carsen Edwards, who won the Jerry West shooting guard of the year; Angel Delgado of Seton Hall, who received the Kareem Abdul-Jabbar center of the year; Villanova's Bridges, who won the Julius Erving small forward of the year; and Arizona's Ayton, who accepted the Karl Malone power forward of the year award.

Information from the Associated Press was used in this report.