Small schools make up CIT field

One-time NCAA tournament darlings Loyola Marymount, Kent State and Indiana State are among the teams in this year's CollegeInsider.com Postseason Tournament.

The pairings were announced Sunday night and the 32-team field, expanded from 24 last season and 16 the year before, also includes Rice, Utah State, Robert Morris, Old Dominion, Yale and Weber State.

North Dakota received an automatic bid as the winner of the Great West Conference tournament.

The fourth annual CIT begins Tuesday. The single-elimination tournament uses an old NIT model in which matchups in future rounds are determined by the results of the previous round. Games are played at campus sites.

Santa Clara beat Iona in last year's championship game.

Tuesday (all times ET):

Robert Morris (24-10) at Indiana State (18-14), 7:00 p.m.

Tennessee State (20-12) at Mercer (22-11), 7:00 p.m.

Coastal Carolina (19-11) at Old Dominion (20-13), 7:00 p.m.

Tennessee Tech (19-13) at Georgia State (21-11), 7:00 p.m.

McNeese State (17-15) at Toledo (18-16), 7:00 p.m.

Utah Valley (20-12) at Weber State (24-6), 9:00 p.m.


Manhattan (20-12) at Albany (19-14), 7:00 p.m.

Yale (19-9) at Fairfield (19-14), 7:00 p.m.

Bowling Green (16-15) at Oakland (17-15) 7:00 p.m.

Buffalo (19-10) at American (20-11), 7:30 p.m.

North Dakota (17-14) at Drake (17-15), 8:00 p.m.

Rice (17-15) at UL-Lafayette (16-15), 8:00 p.m.

UC Santa Barbara (20-10) at Idaho (18-13), 9:00 p.m.

Cal State Bakersfield (16-14) at Utah State (17-15), 10:00 p.m.

Cal State Fullerton (21-9) at Loyola Marymount (19-12), 10:00 p.m.


Kent State (21-11) at USC Upstate (20-12), 7:00 p.m.

Information from The Associated Press was used in this report.