USBWA moves awards ceremony

OKLAHOMA CITY -- The U.S. Basketball Writers Association is moving its college basketball awards presentation ceremonies away from the Final Four.

Starting next year, the Oscar Robertson player of the year award, Wayman Tisdale freshman of the year award and Henry Iba coach of the year award will be given out one week after the national championship game at a gala in Oklahoma City.

Organizers of the Tisdale Award made the announcement Monday night at a banquet honoring Kentucky's Anthony Davis, this season's freshman of the year.

The annual College Basketball Champions Gala will replace an awards breakfast that had been held the Friday before the Final Four.