A Bull In The 'Pen

Goose Gossage
AP Photo/Mike Groll
Goose Gossage was inducted into the Hall of Fame on Sunday.
When the bullpen phone rang, Rich "Goose" Gossage was always ready to unleash his own personal brand of fury. William Nack

More from ESPN.com

Neyer: These 12 people should be in the Hall
There remain a dozen baseball figures who should follow Goose Gossage into the hallowed halls of Cooperstown.
Stark: Eight for the Hall
Led by Goose Gossage and Jim Rice, Jayson Stark details the eight players he voted for on his Hall of Fame ballot this year.
ESPN.com's Hall of Fame Ballot
Check out which players ESPN.com's voters picked for the Class of 2008.
Neyer: Little backing for Trammell
Why does Alan Trammell get such little support for the Hall of Fame? Rob Neyer wonders.
Neyer: Say no to Rice
In taking a close look at the numbers, Rob Neyer says Jim Rice shouldn't ever get elected into the Hall of Fame.
Neyer: Raines vs. Coleman
Rob Neyer takes exception to the argument that Tim Raines' best years are no different than Vince Coleman's.
Olney: Votes for five candidates
On one man's ballot, votes have been submitted for the following: Gossage, Rice, Dawson, Morris and McGwire.
Neyer: All or nothing
Here's one way to judge a player in the PED era: Would he have produced a Hall of Fame career without the use of steroids?
Neyer: Hall's newest members
Here's a look at the five members voted in by the Veterans Committee, and one (umpire Doug Harvey) who was overlooked.
ESPN Conversations


You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?

General Information

2008 INDUCTION CEREMONY Sunday, July 27, 2008, Cooperstown, N.Y.
CLASS OF 2008 INDUCTEES Barney Dreyfuss, Rich "Goose" Gossage, Bowie Kuhn,
Walter O'Malley, Billy Southworth, Dick Williams
Complete listing of Hall of Famers | 2008 Hall of Fame voting | 2007 Hall of Fame index page

2008 Hall of Fame Class

Voted in by BBWAA
Goose Gossage • Pitched for nine teams (White Sox, Pirates, Yankees, Padres, Cubs, Giants, Rangers, A's, Mariners) in 22-year career (1972-94)
• Recorded 310 saves -- 52 of them in which he got seven outs or more -- in 1,002 games
• Posted 3.01 ERA, 1,502 strikeouts in 1,809 1/3 innings
• Won World Series title with Yankees (1978)
• Nine-time All-Star
Voted in by Veterans Committee
Barney Dreyfuss • Owner, Pittsburgh Pirates (1900-32, won two World Series titles)
• Also owned Louisville Colonels, a team contracted after the 1899 season
• Helped arrange for the first World Series (1903)
Bowie Kuhn • MLB commissioner, 1969-84
• Highlights of tenure included introduction of night baseball in World Series, beginning of free agency, addition of six MLB teams
Walter O'Malley • Owner of Dodgers from 1944 to '79 (until his death)
• Team won four World Series titles during his ownership
• Moved team from Brooklyn to Los Angeles after 1957 season
• Dodgers owner at time of integration (Jackie Robinson)
Billy Southworth • Won four pennants, two World Series titles (1942, '44) in 13 years as a manager
• .597 winning percentage, won 100-plus games in three straight seasons (1942-44)
• Hit .297 in 13-year MLB career (1913-29)
Dick Williams • Won four pennants, two World Series titles (1972, '73) in 21 years as a manager
• 1,571 wins (18th all-time), .520 winning pct. as manager
• Took three different franchises (Red Sox, Athletics, Padres) to World Series

Future Hall Candidates

2009 Steve Avery, Jay Bell, Mike Bordick, John Burkett, David Cone, Ron Gant, Mark Grace, Rickey Henderson, Charles Nagy, Denny Neagle, Jesse Orosco, Dean Palmer, Dan Plesac, Rick Reed, Greg Vaughn, Mo Vaughn, Matt Williams, Mike Williams
2010 Roberto Alomar, Kevin Appier, Andy Ashby, Ellis Burks, Andres Galarraga, Pat Hentgen, Mike Jackson, Eric Karros, Ray Lankford, Barry Larkin, Edgar Martinez, Fred McGriff, Shane Reynolds, Robin Ventura, Todd Zeile


2008 Hall of Fame Voting

Players needed at least 75 percent of the BBWAA vote for induction:
Player Votes Pct.
Goose Gossage 466 85.8
Jim Rice 392 72.2
Andre Dawson 358 65.9
Bert Blyleven 336 61.9
Lee Smith 235 43.3
Jack Morris 233 42.9
Tommy John 158 29.1
Tim Raines 132 24.3
Mark McGwire 128 23.6
Alan Trammell 99 18.2
Dave Concepcion 88 16.2
Don Mattingly 86 15.8
Dave Parker 82 15.1
Dale Murphy 75 13.8
Harold Baines 28 5.2
Others receiving votes: Rod Beck 2, Travis Fryman 2, Robb Nen 2, Shawon Dunston 1, Chuck Finley 1, David Justice 1, Chuck Knoblauch 1, Todd Stottlemyre 1.