Injuries: AL | NL
Power Alley
Free Agents
All-Time Stats
Message Board
Minor Leagues
MLB en espanol

Dave Campbell
Jim Caple
Peter Gammons
Joe Morgan
Rob Neyer
John Sickels
Jayson Stark
ESPN Auctions
Thursday, December 12
Marvin Miller among finalists on veterans' ballot

Associated Press

COOPERSTOWN, N.Y. -- Marvin Miller, who led players to the breakthrough legal victories that created multimillion-dollar contracts, is among 41 finalists on the ballot of the baseball Hall of Fame's veterans committee.

Curt Flood, who lost his challenge to baseball's reserve clause, is also among the finalists, as are Bobby Bonds, Rocky Colavito, Gil Hodges, Ted Kluszewski, Roger Maris, Thurman Munson, Don Newcombe, Allie Reynolds, Joe Torre and Maury Wills.

Former commissioner Bowie Kuhn -- a frequent foe of Miller, who headed the union from 1966 to 1981 -- also is on the ballot, along with former Dodgers owner Walter O'Malley, former NL president Bill White, managers Whitey Herzog, Billy Martin and Dick Williams, and umpire Doug Harvey.

President Bush, the former managing partner of the Texas Rangers, and former manager Gene Mauch were among those who failed to make the cut.

The veterans committee considers players bypassed by the Basebal Writers Association of America, which considers players who have been retired for 5 to 20 years. The old veterans committee, which had 15 members, voted on overlooked players, along with managers, coaches and executives.

The Hall decided to change the veterans committee in August 2001, and the new body will vote on players every other year, and on executives, umpires and managers every four years.

Winners of this ballot will be inducted next summer, along with players elected by the BBWAA on Jan. 7. Among the 33 candidates on the BBWAA ballot are Eddie Murray, Gary Carter, Lee Smith, Ryne Sandberg, Jim Rice, Bruce Sutter, Rich Gossage and Fernando Valenzuela.

Under the new rules, all Hall of Fame members are members of the veterans committee. There are 84 eligible voters: 58 players, 13 broadcasters, 11 writers and two members of the former veterans committee whose terms have not yet expired, Ken Coleman and John McHale.

Each voter will be given a ballot with two lists, one containing 26 players and the other 15 managers, umpires and executives. Each voter can select up to 10 names from each list, and those on 75 percent or more of the ballots will join the Hall. Results will be announced Feb. 26.

Finalists were picked by a screening committee of 60 members of the BBWAA from among 200 players and 60 managers, coaches and executives who had been selected last April from an original list of about 1,400 by an overview committee of 10 historians and veteran baseball writers.

The complete veterans committee ballot:

Players: Dick Allen, Bobby Bonds, Ken Boyer, Rocky Colavito, Wes Ferrell, Curt Flood, Joe Gordon, Gil Hodges, Elston Howard, Ted Kluszewski, Mickey Lolich, Marty Marion, Roger Maris, Mike Marshall, Carl Mays, Bob Meusel, Minnie Minoso, Thurman Munson, Don Newcombe, Tony Oliva, Vada Pinson, Allie Reynolds, Ron Santo, Joe Torre, Ken Williams, Maury Wills.

Managers, umpires and executives: Buzzie Bavasi, August Busch Jr., Harry Dalton, Charles O. Finley, Doug Harvey, Whitey Herzog, Bowie Kuhn, Walter O'Malley, Billy Martin, Marvin Miller, Gabe Paul, Paul Richards, Bill White, Dick Williams, Phil Wrigley.

 ESPN Tools
Email story
Most sent
Print story
Daily email