Tejada overtakes Ramirez as leading shortstop vote-getter

The Houston Astros' Miguel Tejada has taken the lead in National League shortstop All-Star balloting.

Tejada leads with 726,835 votes, while former leading vote-getter Hanley Ramirez of the Florida Marlins is now second with 607,528.

Tejada, the 2005 All-Star Game MVP, is a four-time AL All-Star who is in his first season in the NL. He is hitting .300 with seven home runs and 39 RBIs this season. Ramirez, the 2006 NL Rookie of the Year who is vying for his first All-Star roster spot, is batting .300 with 14 homers and 31 RBIs.

In other voting battles, Chicago Cubs rookie Geovany Soto leads NL catchers with 969,853 votes, ahead of two-time All-Star Brian McCann of the Atlanta Braves (578,276) and the Los Angeles Dodgers' Russell Martin (350,694), who started behind the plate for the NL last year.

Philadelphia Phillies second baseman Chase Utley leads all NL players in votes with 1,284,961. Leading the other positions are Astros first baseman Lance Berkman (1,046,249); Braves third baseman Chipper Jones (1,110,171); Cubs outfielders Alfonso Soriano (1,088,866) and Kosuke Fukudome (918,262); and Cincinnati Reds outfielder Ken Griffey Jr. (775,759), a 13-time All-Star.

The AL and NL All-Star rosters will be announced July 6. The All-Star Game will be played July 15.