Tim McCarver up for Frick Award

COOPERSTOWN, N.Y. -- Tim McCarver, Rene Cardenas, and Jacques Doucet are among the 10 nominees for the Ford C. Frick Award.

Also nominated for the award, presented annually for excellence in baseball broadcasting by the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum, are: Dizzy Dean, Tom Cheek, Graham McNamee, Bill King, Ned Martin, Eric Nadel and Dave Van Horne.

McCarver, Nadel and Van Horne are the only active broadcasters on the ballot. Cardenas and Doucet are the only other living candidates.

The winner will be announced Dec. 7 at the baseball winter meetings in Orlando, Fla. Induction into the Hall of Fame will be July 25, 2011.