Six ineligible to sign contracts for year

NEW YORK -- Six Venezuelan amateur players were declared ineligible to sign with major league organizations after the commissioner's office found they committed age or identity fraud.

The six will be ineligible to sign major or minor league contracts for a year, the commissioner's office said Wednesday. They are Ruben Alvarado, Fabian Marquea, Osmir Medina, Serio Nieves, Omar Viloria and Jose Ramon Weffer.

In addition, Erickson Salaya was placed on the disqualified list for one year after MLB determined he falsified his age in connection with his current minor league contract with the Milwaukee Brewers.