Josh Hamilton wins Silver Slugger

MVP candidates Josh Hamilton and Carlos Gonzalez each took home a Silver Slugger award Thursday.

Hamilton was one of two Texas Rangers, along with DH Vladimir Guerrero, to win the award.

The Rangers, Colorado Rockies, Milwaukee Brewers and St. Louis Cardinals all boasted two winners.

Cardinals first baseman Albert Pujols won for the sixth time, his fourth at first base. He was joined by teammate Matt Holliday, who won his fourth as an outfielder.

Gonzalez was one of seven first-time winners. Tampa Bay outfielder Carl Crawford, Jose Bautista of the Toronto Blue Jays and infielders Dan Uggla and Alexei Ramirez were chosen for the first time. Gonzalez's teammate, Troy Tulowitzki and Brewers pitcher Yovani Gallardo celebrated their first Silver Sluggers as well.

Both Gonzalez and Tulowitzki also won Gold Gloves on Wednesday.

"These two awards definitely get other people to realize what I bring to the baseball field each and every day is something not too many shortstops in the game bring," Tulowitzki said Thursday night on a conference call. "I definitely consider myself a complete player. I take a great deal of pride in that."

The New York Yankees and Boston Red Sox, who finished one and two in runs scored during the regular season, respectively, each had just one Silver Slugger.

Yankees second baseman Robinson Cano and Red Sox third baseman Adrian Beltre each won their second awards.

The award is determined by a vote of both coaches and managers to decide which players had the best offensive season at their respective positions.

The winners:

American League: Miguel Cabrera (Detroit Tigers), Robinson Cano (New York Yankees, Adrian Beltre (Boston Red Sox), Alexei Ramirez (Chicago White Sox), Jose Bautista (Toronto Blue Jays), Carl Crawford (Tampa Bay Rays), Josh Hamilton (Texas Rangers), Joe Mauer (Minnesota Twins), Vladimir Guerrero (Texas Rangers)

National League: Albert Pujols (St. Louis Cardinals), Dan Uggla (Florida Marlins), Ryan Zimmerman (Washington Nationals), Troy Tulowitzki (Colorado Rockies), Ryan Braun (Milwaukee Brewers), Carlos Gonzalez (Colorado Rockies), Matt Holliday (St. Louis Cardinals), Brian McCann (Atlanta Braves), Yovani Gallardo (Milwaukee Brewers)

Information from The Associated Press contributed to this report.