Umpires announced for first round

NEW YORK -- Joe West, Dale Scott, Gerry Davis and Jerry Layne will be the umpire crew chiefs for the first round of the playoffs.

Major League Baseball announced the umpire crews on Thursday.

Scott will handle the AL series between Tampa Bay and Texas that begins Friday. He will work with Mark Carlson, Kerwin Danley, Greg Gibson, Brian Gorman and Marvin Hudson.

Davis will work the AL matchup between Detroit and the New York Yankees that starts Friday night. He will be joined by Tony Randazzo, Eric Cooper, Dan Iassogna, Ted Barrett and Bill Welke.

West will call the NL series between Arizona and Milwaukee that opens Saturday. Also on his crew are Ron Kulpa, Alfonso Marquez, Bruce Dreckman, Jeff Kellogg and James Hoye.

Layne will head the crew for the NL matchup between St. Louis and Philadelphia beginning Saturday. He'll work with Chris Guccione, Jerry Meals, Angel Hernandez, Gary Cederstrom and Chad Fairchild.