Royals agree to terms with 12 players

KANSAS CITY, Mo. -- The Royals have agreed to terms with 12 players who will be making their way to Arizona for the start of spring training later this month.

Right-handed pitchers Nate Adcock, Kelvin Herrera, Jeremy Jeffress, Sean O'Sullivan and Blake Wood agreed to terms, the team said in a statement Friday.

Also agreeing were left-handers Everett Teaford and Ryan Verdugo, catcher Manuel Pina, first baseman Clint Robinson and outfielders Jarrod Dyson, David Lough and Derrick Robinsion.

There are 12 unsigned players on the 40-man roster with fewer than three years of service time: right-handers Louis Coleman, Greg Holland, Vin Mazzaro and Luis Mendoza; left-handers Tim Collins and Danny Duffy; infielders Alcides Escobar, Johnny Giavotella, Eric Hosmer and Mike Moustakas; catcher Salvador Perez; and outfielder Lorenzo Cain.