Shaq, Yao, Brand among sportsmanship candidates

NEW YORK -- All-Stars Shaquille O'Neal of the Miami Heat, Yao Ming of the Houston Rockets and Elton Brand of the Los Angeles Clippers are among the candidates for the 2005-06 NBA Sportsmanship Award.

O'Neal, Yao, Brand, Luol Deng of the Chicago Bulls, Jacque Vaughn of the New Jersey Nets and Andrei Kirilenko of the Utah Jazz were selected on Tuesday as divisional winners for the
award which honors sportsmanship on the court.

The six selections were made by a five-member panel of former
players. The winner will be announced after the regular season.

The Sportsmanship Award winner will be presented with the Joe
Dumars Trophy, named after the Hall of Fame guard and president
of the Detroit Pistons who was the recipient of the inaugural
award in 1996.

Grant Hill of the Orlando Magic won the Sportsmanship Award last
season. Other winners include David Robinson, Ray Allen and
P.J. Brown.