Yao leads league with most votes, Kobe, LeBron follow

NEW YORK -- Yao Ming of the Houston Rockets and Kobe Bryant of the Los Angeles Lakers lead the Western Conference, while LeBron James of the Cleveland Cavaliers and Dwyane Wade of the Miami Heat lead the Eastern Conference in votes received after the second returns of 2007 NBA All-Star Balloting.

Yao leads the league with 1,411,923 votes. The Minnesota Timberwolves' Kevin Garnett leads all Western Conference forwards with 785,865 votes; followed by San Antonio's Tim Duncan (715,916). Bryant (1,187,505) and the Houston Rockets' Tracy McGrady (1,057,057) lead all Western Conference guards. In third place among Western Conference guards is Allen Iverson, who was acquired by the Denver Nuggets from the Philadelphia 76ers on Dec. 19. Since Iverson was traded to a Western Conference team after the All-Star ballot was unveiled, his Eastern Conference votes will be applied to the conference in which he now plays.

James leads all Eastern Conference players with 1,323,989 votes; followed by Wade (983,321). The Toronto Raptors' Chris Bosh (497,283) is second to James among Eastern Conference forwards. The New Jersey Nets' Vince Carter (726,040) is second to Wade among Eastern Conference guards. Miami's Shaquille O'Neal leads all Eastern Conference centers with 855,544 votes; followed by the Orlando Magic's Dwight Howard (665,434).

Through the 2007 NBA All-Star Balloting program, NBA fans from around the globe are responsible for voting in the starters for the 56th NBA All-Star Game, which will be played in Las Vegas on Feb. 18.