Fans to pick fourth player in slam dunk contest

Magic center Dwight Howard, Grizzlies forward Rudy Gay and Knicks guard Nate Robinson will compete in the slam dunk championship Feb. 14 during the NBA All-Star Weekend festivities in Phoenix.

Howard is the defending champion, beating Gerald Green last season in New Orleans in a competition that featured Howard wearing a Superman cape. Gay also was a participant in last season's contest, and Robinson was the 2006 champion.

Fans will pick the fourth competitor in an online vote, selecting one of three rookies: Bucks forward Joe Alexander, Trail Blazers forward Rudy Fernandez or Thunder guard Russell Westbrook.

The last time a player successfully defended his slam dunk title was in 2003, when Jason Richardson of the Golden State Warriors repeated as champion.