2017 NBA awards: Winners, analysis and latest news

Westbrook emotional thanking his brother (0:36)

Russell Westbrook tears up after winning the NBA MVP award when describing his relationship with his brother, who has always been supportive and the one person that Russ admits he'll always look up to. (0:36)

For the first time, the NBA announced the winner of the MVP and the league's other major awards during a live show televised on TNT. The awards show, hosted by rapper/entertainer Drake, was held at Basketball City at Pier 36 in Manhattan, New York, on June 26.

More: Full results | OnScene at NBA awards | Award history

Most Valuable Player: Russell Westbrook

Defensive Player of the Year: Draymond Green

Rookie of the Year: Malcolm Brogdon

Sixth Man of the Year: Eric Gordon

Most Improved Player: Giannis Antetokounmpo

Coach of the Year: Mike D'Antoni

All-NBA teams

All-Defensive teams

All-Rookie teams

More on the 2017 NBA Awards